Day 1 – Oh, my! All those veggies

Okay, day one is past.   I enjoyed the variety of dishes I had today.  There are some great Dr. Fuhrman recipes in the book and on pinterest.  Back in the day of being a vegetarian, I didn’t have a lot of resources for recipes so I did a lot of stir fries (which is funny, because that’s what I chose to do for dinner tonight).

Breakfast:  a blackberry / chia / kale smoothie that I made (with the aforementioned ingredients) plus coconut water, banana, and cinnamon.  It was very yummy and filling.

Snack: apple

Lunch:  Broccoli with sesame ginger sauce and an enormous salad.  The sesame ginger sauce is pretty good.  I didn’t have any miso, so I skipped it, but I think the miso would mellow the taste of the tahini a bit.  It had a bit of a bitter taste to it.  The dressing for my salad was amazing.  It was a Fuhrman dijon date dressing.  Wow!  What an amazing depth of flavor and no oil added.  I could eat that dressing all of the time.  Here is the recipe:

1 cup water

1/3 cup cashew butter or 2/3 cup raw cashews

4 tablespoons Dr. Fuhrman’s Riesling Raisin Vinegar or balsamic vinegar (I used balsamic)

2 tablespoons Dr. Fuhrman’s VegiZest or other no-salt seasoning (I used Spike, that I found in the natural food section of my grocery store)

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

4– 6 dates, pitted

1– 2 cloves garlic, minced

Blend all the ingredients in a food processor or high-powered blender until smooth and creamy.

Snack:  Banana w/ some almondsAsian Stir Fry

Dinner:  Asian Vegetable stir fry and another salad.  I used some mini bell peppers and asian pear on my salad and used the Fuhrman caesar dressing, which is another amazing dressing.  I know the Eat to Live book says to have big salads before you eat your meal, but I kind of went light on the salad.  It was just a regular bowl of salad.  I like salad a lot, but I’m more of a large salad at lunch and small salad at dinner sort of person.  I guess I just prefer warm food for dinner.

This all was a lot of food today.  Well, I guess you can say it was a lot of veggies.  A Lot.  Really, I like veggies.  I’m an adventurous eater.  Even as a kid I like veggies.  I forgot how many veggies I used to eat when I was vegetarian.  I feel pretty good, though, and satiated.  I didn’t even feel like dessert, but decided to make it anyway.  It’s baking right now and the aroma of cinnamon is amazing.  I’m making the apple strudel.  I think I was just being a little lazy.  But, the good news is that I made my salad dressings yesterday for the week and I’m freezing 2 portions of the stir fry for next week and the other one I’m using on Wednesday, so those are some time savers for me.  And, if I can beat back my family from eating my dessert, I’ll have three more nights of that as well.

Day one done.  I haven’t had any cravings for anything.  I have had a bit of a caffeine withdrawal headache, but that should be gone by tomorrow.  I wasn’t a huge coffee drinker anyway.  I was able to do some yoga today and walking.  Tomorrow I plan on more yoga but no walking – we’re supposed to be getting a major snow storm tonight.  I did pretty well on nutrients today, but I realized that I forgot to have some beans at lunch, so I’ll make sure to have them tomorrow.  I definitely got a lot of fruit and veggies in.

So, onward and upward (or, hopefully downward – the scale, that is).  Until tomorrow…..

Leave a Reply

