Day 4 – Lots of Energy

Today went pretty well.  After a few days of getting my feet wet with eating vegan, I’m feeling a little more confident on what I should eat and on the philosophy of Eat to Live.  Some of the concepts I’m applying to each day:  eat one cup of beans a day (I’ve been eating 1/2 cup on a salad at lunch and 1/2 cup on a salad for dinner), eat a tablespoon of flax meal each day, eat a large salad with at least lunch and dinner (breakfast, too, if you can stomach it first thing in the morning), and have a healthy, vegan dessert each day.  So far, it’s working pretty well.  I’ve been eating and feeling satisfied.  Today, the caffeine withdrawal headache finally went away and so did the body aches and I’m feeling really energetic.  I’ve been sleeping really well.  Internally, I feel healthy.  I’ve lost 7 pounds this week.  This is definitely the most weight I’ve lost in a single week.  I’m sure it will slow down soon, but I really can’t believe how easy it’s been.  I think in general, it would take me about 7 weeks to lose 7 pounds.  I haven’t been going to bed hungry or waking up starving.  I don’t feel like eating a horse by meal time.  My body seems to be functioning like it should.  I know everyone has their views on how much protein you should get, and all of those ‘build muscle mass’ type workout videos tend to really hype the high protein type of diets.  But, this seems to really be working for me.  Seriously, I want to be healthy;  I’m not looking to flex my muscles to whoever would look at them.  That’s not my goal.  I don’t think it’s necessarily pleasing to God to have that sort of pride in my body.  I was like that at one time in my life and I believe that God brought me down a few pegs with health problems, just to teach me what really matters and to teach me to lean on Him instead of my own strength.  But, that’s just my own life.  So, here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast:  whole oats (oatmeal) w/ black berries, banana, almond milk

Snack:  apple w/ almond butterSalad

Lunch:  leftover Golden Australian Cauliflower soup, salad topped with kidney beans, a bit of non-dairy cheese, chia seeds, and dijon date dressing (this was an awesome salad – I’d eat this all the time)

Snack:  banana, pumpkin seeds

Dinner:  Here’s my Fuhrman friendly recipe for today.  I think I’ll call it  Tempeh Cacciatore:

8 oz. Tempeh, chopped (can use tofu or just skip it if you don’t like it)

2 cups quartered mushrooms

14 oz. can chopped tomatoes

2 cups skinned and chopped eggplant

1 cup chopped red bell pepper

2 large cloves garlic, mincedItalian Tempeh

1 Tablespoon non salt seasoning

1 cup water

1 cup chopped kale

1 medium spaghetti squash, steamed and pulled apart with a fork to make spaghetti like strands

It’s so simple:  To a medium sized saucepan, add the tempeh, mushrooms, tomatoes eggplant, pepper, garlic, seasoning, and water.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium high and cook for 10 minutes, until the eggplant is slightly opaque.  Add the kale and cook for 5 more minutes.  Serve on top of spaghetti squash.  Serves 4.

I enjoyed this a lot.  I was looking for something Italian-ish and this did the trick.  I added a sprinkle of dairy free ‘parmesan’ cheese that I made with almond flour and nutritional yeast flakes (you can find the recipe on my other blog, searchingforglutenfree.wordpress.com).

Dessert tonight was the Yummy banana oat bars (oh, no, I only have one left:  time to make more).  I never was a dessert every night type of person, but I’m starting to like it.  It kind of takes the edge off of any hunger I may be feeling and I think it actually has been making me sleep better.  I’ve been sleeping like a log this week.  I think maybe have something light to last you through the night may make you sleep better, but I’m not positive about that.

Oh, yeah, exercise today was 20 minutes on the exercise bike and 20 minutes of the glider and then yoga.

Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

