Experimenting with vegan recipes – Friday night pizza night and healthy ‘brownies’

Well, I’ve decided to stop counting the days because eventually I’m going to lose track.  Today went well.  I did have an intense craving for coffee with creamer in it.  Well, I don’t use regular creamer, but I like the coconut creamer – French vanilla.  Anyway, it’s the first craving I’ve had all week.  I decided that Sunday will be my ‘cheat’ day, when I have coffee with creamer in it.  I’m not going to go crazy, like scarf down a steak and a large baked potato and pie.  I’m doing too well on this diet.  As a matter of fact, this is the first time I’ve ever followed a specific diet.  Most of the time, I look at diets and think they don’t make sense.  Eat to Live made sense to me.  I’m all about controlling our health through food, so it just made sense.  Back to the cheat day:  coffee with coconut creamer is going to be my one splurge and an egg sandwich for breakfast on gluten free toast.  Those are my comfort foods.  I’m a breakfast lover.

Tonight is our traditional pizza night.  The Eat to Live book suggests a veggie pizza made with a wheat pita, but I’m gluten intolerantand no one in our area sells gluten free pitas (and I just wasn’t in the mood to make my own); so I got a gluten free / vegan pizza crust mix from the store today (Namaste – the first time trying this one).   My real experimenting today, though, was with a kale breakfast shake and some ‘brownies’ for dessert.  This is an idea that I got off of Pinterest, for a Dr. Fuhrman brownie recipe, but I added some special touches to it.  I liked it.  They were very chocolatey and slightly chewy.  They may have tasted better with some fruit on top.  My husband tried one.  I warned him.  He didn’t listen.  He tried his with ice cream and just couldn’t eat it.  They really are an acceptable substitute for brownies.  It definitely feeds the chocolate yen and it is really, really healthy:  carrots, black beans, chia seeds, no sugar.  I think the fact that they’re healthy makes them even better.

Here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast:  I’m to sure what to call this without it sounding gross, but it was good.  It was satisfying and kept me satisfied until lunch.  I think I’ll call it my Kale Keeps You Going Smoothie. Um, no, that’s too personal.  How about  Blueberry Breakfast Smoothie?  Okay, that sounds a little more palatable.  Here’s the recipe:Blueberry Kale Smoothie

1 1/2 Cup Coconut Water

1 1/2 Cups Chopped Kale

1 Banana

1 Pear

1 Cup Frozen Blueberries

1 Tbsp. Flax Meal

1 Tsp. Fresh Grated Ginger

1 Tsp. Cinnamon

Directions:  Put everything in a blender and blend well.  I don’t have a very good blender.  It’s just a cheapey-bought from the local job lots-type of blender.  So, I blended it really well, for about 4 minutes until all traces of the kale had disappeared.  This was tasty.

Lunch: Leftover Asian Vegetable Stir Fry, salad topped with kidney beans, pumpkin seeds, dijon date dressing.

Dinner:  1/2 of a personal gluten free/vegan pizza topped with mushrooms, onions, and dairy free mozzarella (Daiya), salad topped with kidney beans, dijon date dressing.

Dessert:  Fuhrman Friendly brownies  (here’s the recipe, if you’re williing to try them):

2 Cups Canned Black BeansBlack Bean Brownies

10 Medjool Dates

1 Cup Grated Carrot

1/2 Cup Apple Juice

2 Tbsp. Almond Butter

1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 Cup Nonalkalized Cocoa Powder

1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds

Preheat oven to 325.  Add everything to a food processor and blend well, for about 3-4 mintues, until the mixture is fluffy looking.  Spray a 9×9 baking pan.  Add mixture to pan and spread evenly.  Bake in preheated oven for about 50 minutes until done well.  Let cool completely before cutting and serving.  Makes 9 brownies.

Tired, must sleep.  Until tomorrow…..

Leave a Reply

