Busy Day – Test to stay on track

Today was a really busy day, and it was kind of a test to see how I can stay on track.  You see, I live in kind of a bubble.  I homeschool my kids, so I have the luxury of being able to stay at home, fix my food ahead of time, have things at my disposal pretty easily.  I guess that could work against me too, because it could make it easy to eat things I shouldn’t.  But, generally, it’s a real benefit.  Today, we were off all over the place, but I still managed to stay on track.  I’m still jonesing for a cup of coffee, though.  At least the caffeine withdrawal headaches have disappeared and so have the detox aches that I was having.  So, here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast: oatmeal made with whole oats, almond milk, pear, blackberries, and cinnamon.

Lunch:  leftover gluten free vegan pizza from last night

Snack:  salad with  black and kidney beans and dijon date dressing on top

Dinner:  two egg frittata with black beans, broccoli, kale, mushrooms, onions, and Daiya dairy free cheddar ‘cheese’Broccoli Kale Frittata

Dessert:  black bean brownie

So, I think the big thing I notice right now is that this is the time of the year that I tend to be in a lot of pain.  I don’t know why.  And, when I’m in pain, I don’t sleep well.  Sometimes the pain will last for a few weeks.  Sometimes the pain will last for months.  Last year, I was in pain for about 4 months, which is why I ended up going gluten free, which helped alleviate a lot of the problems I was having.  Jump ahead a year and I’m doing pretty well on the pain scale.  I’ve never taken any medicine for the pain.  That’s just something I don’t like to do.  Since I’ve started this diet, I have been sleeping so solidly.  I’ve been having a bit of pain, but I’ve been waking up in the morning feeling like I’ve actually had a good night’s sleep.  I don’t know if it has anything to do with the diet or not, but it’s probably not hurting.  Everything seems to be working well in my body this week.

Well, until tomorrow (‘cheat day’)……

2 thoughts on “Busy Day – Test to stay on track”

Leave a Reply

