Glutened on ‘Cheat Day’

I made a stupid mistake today.  So, today at church I started to have issues.  By the time I got home, I felt very uncomfortable, like I had had some gluten.  I couldn’t think of where I would have been exposed.  Then I remembered that I had bought some veggie sausages as a treat for ‘cheat day.’  duh!  I didn’t even read the ingredients.  Number one ingredient:  wheat.  Number one!  It wasn’t even hidden in something like malt or triticale or barley.  I can’t believe I didn’t even read the ingredients!  Oh, well, you live and you learn.  I pretty much stuck to the plan and still had a few treats on my cheat day.  Here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast:  gluten-free bagel (treat) w/ dairy free butter substitute, poached egg, veggie sausages (treat that turned into a trick), banana

Snack:  salad topped w/ Dijon date dressing and a mixture of black and kidney beans

Dinner (mid-day): roasted red potatoes (treat), grilled Portobello mushroom and grilled red peppers and onions (I made extra so I can have them in sandwiches this week)Salad with Creamy Sesame Dressing

Snack:  salad topped w/ Fuhrman’s creamy sesame dressing.  Here’s my typical salad:

Desssert:  black bean brownie, coconut milk yogurt (treat)

I made Fuhrman’s creamy sesame dressing today.  It was a little sweeter than I preferred, so I added some liquid aminos to it.  Next time, I’ll lay off of the dates.  Overall, I like the Fuhrman dressings, or at least the idea of Fuhrman’s dressings:  using nuts as a base instead of oil and vinegar.  They are definitely more nutrient dense and they’re very rich tasting as well.  I did pretty well this week.  Tomorrow I’m going to weigh in and see how well I did.  Until tomorrow….

2 thoughts on “Glutened on ‘Cheat Day’”

  1. Heather, keep up the search to find what is right for your body!! It sounds like this is working! I believe that no two people are alike (as God intended) so different things work for different people. I know friends that just walk a few days a week and see the pounds melt off… others walk a lot every day and no weight loss. Everyone has to find what makes their body perfom optimally 🙂

    1. I’m feeling really great. I’ll see how it does with the pain issues I’ve been having, but everything seems to be working really well. I just feel better. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

