Having Fun with Vegan Cooking

Well, as I was making a very rich, homemade, mac n’ cheese for my family, I started to crave cheese.  Yes, I like cheese.  It doesn’t like me, though, so I don’t eat it. One of my favorite veggies as a kid was cauliflower topped with cheese sauce.  From thence came my idea for a vegan ‘cheese’ sauce to use in my Fuhrman friendly vegan alfredo.  I’ll post that recipe at the end of this post.  I was hungry this afternoon and I started to think it was because I had bread on my sandwich for lunch.  Once again, I was having the Portobello sandwich and have no gluten-free pitas so I used gluten-free multigrain gluten-free bread.  Anyway, I realized that I didn’t eat too much in the morning, no midmorning snack, and that’s probably why I was hungrier than normal.  It’s interesting how something as simple as an apple for a snack midmorning makes me eat less in the afternoon (make a mental note of that).  Not that I really ate more than normal in the afternoon, but I definitely felt like eating more.  So, here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast:  oatmeal made with whole oats, pear, blueberries, cinnamon, flax meal, and almond milk

Portobello Sandwich 2

 

Lunch:  Grilled Portobello mushroom, grilled red peppers, grilled onions, and sesame ginger sauce on multigrain gluten-free bread; salad topped with chick peas and Dijon date dressing

Snack:  Banana w/ almond butter

 

 

 

 

Dinner:  Vegan ‘cheese’ sauce on top of spaghetti squash, topped with water sautéed shiitake mushrooms and onion;  salad topped with pinto beans and creamy sesame dressing.  Here’s the recipe for the vegan ‘cheese’ sauce:

Ingredients:Vegan Alfredo Sauce

16 oz. Bag Frozen Cauliflower

1 Cup Almond Milk

1 Tsp. Salt Free Seasoning

3 Tbsp. Nutritional Yeast Flakes

 

Directions:

In a medium-sized saucepan, add the cauliflower, almond milk, and seasoning.  Bring to boil, reduce heat, and cook cauliflower until done, about 8 minutes.  With an immersion blender, or in a blender, mix together the cauliflower mixture with the nutritional yeast flakes.  Blend until cauliflower is thoroughly pureed.  Makes 4 servings.

Dessert:  Yummy Banana Oat Bar (these ones I made with dried blueberries because I was out of dates when I made them – still very yummy)

It was another good day today.  I walked for 30 minutes and otherwise had a busy day.  I’ll do some yoga before I go to sleep tonight.  Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

