Trying to Keep My Focus

Okay, today I was a little sick of eating salad.  I just couldn’t bring myself to eat one for dinner.  I really wasn’t all that hungry and IStrawberry Banana Date Smoothie had a ton of fiber today, so I just felt salad-ed out.  I need to make exercise a priority.  I was extremely busy today and we just got home from our nursing home ministry and it’s 8:00 at night and I just don’t feel like exercising.  I need to find my groove for doing it.  I think I definitely need to do it in the morning, because once my day gets busy, the next thing I know is that it’s late and I’m too tired to exercise.  So, I guess my number one priority will be to go to bed earlier so I can get up earlier.  Okay, I put that out there.  Now I have to follow through with it.

Here’s the run down for the day:

Breakfast:  Strawberry Banana Date Smoothie (I added a couple of dates to my strawberry smoothie to sweeten it up – I was in the mood for something sweet this morning)

Snack:  Apple (felt like having a bagel, but ate an apple instead)Spaghetti Squash with Spinach Alfredo

Lunch:  I took my leftover cauliflower ‘cheese’ sauce and added some spinach and mushrooms (yummy); salad topped with black beans, a little dairy-free cheese, and Dijon date dressing

Snack:  banana with almond butter

Dinner:  I’ll call it Millet with vegetable gravy.  This was my first time eating millet as a grain.  I’ve used millet flour for baking bread, but never ate the grain.  I really liked it.  It was a little coarse textured, which I like.  I just cooked 1/2 cup millet with 1 cup of water and a teaspoon of Spike.  Then I took some mushrooms, broccoli, eggplant, and carrots and water sautéed them, added some Spike and water and thickened it up with a little arrowroot.  This is comfort food at its finest.  My family was having chicken and dumplings, so I felt like having some comfort food too.  It was really tasty.Millet with Vegetable Gravy

Dessert:  I had a yummy banana oat bar before the nursing home.

I’m enjoying trying different vegan recipes.  I feel so much better.  Now, if I can get the new cat to sleep somewhere else besides my chest tonight, I’ll probably have a better night’s sleep.  So, the plan is to go to bed a bit earlier and get up earlier to exercise.  I already know that I won’t have time tomorrow during the day.  We have company coming over on Saturday, so I have to prepare for that plus I’m making things for Easter dinner at Mom’s on Sunday, plus I’m making an Easter dress for my daughter, which is taking a lot more time than I thought it would, plus I have to think of food to make for myself.  On Saturday, we’re having lasagna for company, so I’m making myself a veggie lasagna, with zucchini as the noodles.  On Sunday, I’m going to make a raw cheesecake for dessert, but I don’t know what to make for myself for dinner.  I making twice baked potatoes for the fam, and I’m thinking that doesn’t really fit in with the Eat to Live diet.  Argh – gotta keep focused!  Maybe I’ll also make some twice baked sweet potatoes.  I haven’t made them in years.  It’s a Moosewood recipe.  Okay, I’m back in focus now.

Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

