Aw, Nuts

I’m really surprised how many uses there are for nuts.  This weekend, I stayed on track, for the most part.  We had company over for dinner on Saturday and I made lasagna.  So, for myself, I made a vegetable lasagna (no noodles – I’ll post the recipe this week) with a cashew ‘ricotta’ filling.  It was really good, and very filling.  Then for Easter Sunday, we were going to my mom’s house and she was making ham, so I made a vegan shepherd’s pie and for dessert I made a ‘cheese’ cake with raw cashews.  It was really amazing.  I never would have thought of all of these uses for nuts.  It’s amazing how much you can learn with a computer and just a little time.  Of course, I altered the recipes because, well, I’m a little OCD and that’s just how I roll.  At dinner I got adventurous and made my own dressing with cashew butter.  I’ll post the recipes tomorrow – I’m a little short on time tonight because I have a ladies homeschooling luncheon to get ready for.  Besides, I’ll probably be eating all leftovers tomorrow.  Here’s the break down for today:

Breakfast:  oatmeal made with whole oats, blueberries, almond milk, and flax meal

Lunch:  leftover veggie chili; salad topped with a little dairy free cheese and creamy sesame dressing

Dinner: vegan shepherd’s pie; salad topped with curry ranch dressing (I could drink this stuff)Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Dessert:  vegan ‘ cheese’ cake with strawberry topping

 

Exercise today was walking 3 miles in 41 minutes.  It felt good.  Tonight I’m going to do yoga when I’m done with getting ready for tomorrow.  Oh, yeah, I lost 3 pounds this past week – not as good as I thought I might do, because of how much I lost in the first week, but I’m still going in the right direction.  Until tomorrow…..

Leave a Reply

