Vegan Lasagna

So, one of the problems I’m finding with being vegan is going out, or going to other people’s houses, or having non-vegans over for dinner, or just cooking for a non-vegan family.  With my special diet requirements I’ve had for a while now, it’s pretty much second nature for me to cook 2 meals all the time.  Generally, we eat all three meals at home because we’re homeschooler AND we’re too cheap to pay to eat out AND my family loves my cooking so they prefer to eat at home.  Eating at home a lot means making about 6 meals a day, in theory.  In reality, though, I’m happy to eat whatever is easy, so I’ll make something that will last a long time.  Which brings me to vegan lasagna:  we had company over for dinner on Saturday.  My boys like white lasagna.  My husband and daughter like red lasagna.  So, I ended up making red lasagna and white lasagna.  I wanted something special for myself so I looked up different recipes for veggie lasagna, but I wanted to make something without tofu because I was going to have tofu on Sunday and I don’t like to eat tofu too often.  So, of course, I came up with my own recipe for lasagna.  Here’s a general version of what I made.  You can add and delete as you wish.  This combo turned out great and it will feed me for at least 6 days, probably more like  days. (just a side note:  I know this isn’t the best picture, but at least it kind of shows the layers.  Maybe someday  I’ll be able to afford a good camera.)Vegan Lasagna

Vegan Lasagna

Ingredients:

For the Filling:

1 cup raw cashews, soaked in water for at least 30 minutes (I soak for about 2 hours because I have an el-cheapo blender)

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1 cup baby spinach

1/2 cup nutritional yeast flakes

1 tsp. Spike seasoning

1 tsp. Dried Basil

2 garlic cloves

For the ‘Noodles’:

1 Large Eggplant, peeled and sliced thin

2 Large Zucchini, peeled and sliced thin

Other Ingredients:

1 Jar of your favorite pasta sauce

1 large jar of roasted red peppers

5 oz. sliced shiitake mushrooms

Shredded dairy free mozzarella

Directions:

In a food processor, add cashews, water and lemon juice.  Process until somewhat smooth.  Add the remaining ingredients and process until the texture of ricotta cheese.  Set aside.

To assemble the lasagna:  using a 9×11 pan (I used a Pyrex dish), spread a bit of pasta sauce on the bottom of the pan.  Layer on third of the eggplant, half of the zucchini, and then half of the ‘cheese’ filling.  Top with half of the roasted red peppers, half of the mushrooms and top with some more pasta sauce.  Layer again with the on third of the eggplant and zucchini, the remaining ‘cheese’ filling, red peppers, and mushrooms.  Top with some more pasta sauce.  Put the remaining eggplant and zucchini on top.  Top with some pasta sauce.  Cover and bake at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours, until thoroughly cooked.  Add the dairy free mozzarella and bake for another 20 minutes until melted and slightly browned.  Let sit for about 15 minutes before serving.  Makes about 8 servings.

 

Leave a Reply

