Update – Eat to Live, Start of Week 3

Well, so far I’ve lost about 15 pounds.  I have to give God the glory for that.  When I started this diet, I prayed for wisdom on how and what to eat, and how much to exercise.  I’m still having a foot problem in my left foot that makes it hard to do much, so I can’t say that it’s by my own power that I’m losing the weight.  I’m actually surprised at how much protein I’ve been getting.  I wondered, maybe even worried a bit, that I wasn’t getting enough protein, but I took a day and entered everything I ate on myfitnesspal and I was very surprised that I actually got plenty of protein and stayed pretty low in fat, despite the amount of nuts I was eating with all the dressings I use and the nuts I add to recipes.

Okay, I have to admit that I used to think of vegans as being ‘way out there.’  What I’m doing now is good, though.  I highly recommend this way of eating to anyone out there.  And, I have to tell that doubter, that feels like they have to eat meat to get the protein to build muscle, that you don’t need it.  Back in the day when I was a vegetarian, I did eat dairy and eggs as well, mainly because I didn’t know you could possibly get enough protein from plant products.  One of Dr. Fuhrman’s philosophies is that what you eat should be nutrient dense:  nuts, dark greens, legumes.  When you think all the way back to the Garden of Eden, Adam and Eve were originally created to eat the plants.  Genesis 2:9 says, “And out of the ground made the LORD God to grow every tree that is pleasant to the sight, and good for food; the tree of life also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of knowledge of good and evil.”  It was only after they were cursed that they were told to kill animals for meat (“cursed is the ground for thy sake; in sorrow shalt thou eat of it all the days of thy life;” – Genesis 3:17B).  Haha – I guess you could say that eating animals causes sorrow, ya know, with the killing and all of that.  Now, don’t get me wrong:  I don’t value the life of an animal over the life of a human.  I’m just saying that biblically, we were made to eat a diet based on plants more than animals and I think we’ve skewed that concept in our diet a bit.  Even in Old Testament times, killing the fatted calf was a once in a while sort of deal, not an everyday sort of deal.  Their diet was primarily plants and grains, and very little animal products (the examples of Daniel and Ezekiel are two that come to mind).  That being said, I’m totally on board with this.  You can’t discount the effects it’s had on me so far.  I haven’t been able to lose weight in about 12 years, since my second child was born.  I was constantly counting calories and never losing weight.  I tried lower calories, higher calories, low-fat, high fiber, high protein.  Nothing worked. Now, I’m losing weight and I’m feeling great.  I never feel hungry.  I haven’t been counting calories or anything.  It’s really quite amazing.

Here’s the run-down for yesterday and today:

Breakfast:  raspberry and kale smoothie yesterday and a mango/raspberry and kale smoothie today.

Lunch: Leftover vegan chili and salad yesterday

Dinner:  I made a recipe from my health book yesterday.  Here it is:

Crockpot Curry Veggies

Ingredients:Crockpot Vegetable Curry

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

4 Medium Carrots, sliced

1 Medium Onion, chopped

4 Garlic Cloves, minced

2 Tablespoons Curry Powder

½ Teaspoon Turmeric

5 Red Potatoes, cut in chunks

2 Cans Chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1, 28 Ounce Can Chopped Tomatoes, not drained

1, 14 ½ oz. Can Vegetable Stock

2 Tbsp. Salt Free Seasoning

8 Ounces Frozen Petite Green Peas

1 Can Light Coconut Milk

Directions: 

In a skillet, heat the oil over medium high heat.  Add the carrots and onion and sauté until onion is translucent.  Add the garlic, curry powder, and turmeric and cook 2 minutes more until the spices are slightly toasted.  Transfer vegetable mixture to the slow cooker.  Add the potatoes, chickpeas, tomatoes, stock, and seasoning.  Cook on low for about 5 hours.  Add the coconut milk and peas and cook 30 minutes more.

I’m a curry fan, so I really enjoyed this.  It is super filling, but it was actually a good meal for a spring evening.  It’s kind of light but still comforting type food.

Yesterday, my daughter and I walked about 3 miles as exercise.  Today, I’m going to walk about 3 miles and do an hour of yoga (I’m really loving yoga).  I’ve been having a lot of upper body aches and pains lately, but that’s pretty common for this time of year for some reason.  The chiropractor helped a bit yesterday, but I’m still getting some burning in my shoulders.  It seems to be fairly seasonal – in the fall and spring – so it may be related to allergies, I don’t know.  I’m hoping that if I stay the course, a lot of the aches and pains will go away.  I know my body is functioning better all over, so that may come in time.

Until tomorrow…..

Leave a Reply

