The Benefits of Hemp

Okay, it’s official:  I’m breaking out my Birkenstocks and I’m going to buy back my ’68 Bug.  Today I started putting hemp seed in my breakfast smoothie.  Apparently, this is, like, the best seed you could possibly eat, man.  Okay, enough hippie talk.  I bought a bag of this on a whim, just because I read the nutritional value on the back of the package.  Now that I’m looking it up on the internet, it’s a pretty impressive little seed.  Like flax-seed, it contains all nine of the essential amino acids that your body needs.  It has a good balance of Omega-3 and Omega-6 fats, which I’m finding out is important in your diet (but that’s for another post).  It’s a better protein than soy because it doesn’t contain phytic acid, which can prohibit the absorption of vitamins and minerals.  Oh, and this is my ‘you got me at hello’ moment:  it strengthens your immune system.  That’s a biggie for me because I used to be sick all of the time.  If there was a cold within a mile of me, I would catch it and have it for weeks.  Since I went gluten  free, I don’t seem to have that problem, but I’m still always conscious of keeping my immune system strong.  So, “What do you do with hemp seed?” you ask.  Well, I’m not sure yet. It’s a very soft seed with a taste similar to sesame seeds.  I’m going to look into hemp milk and hemp oil as well, even though right now I’m not adding extra oil to anything that I cook.  This morning I put it in my smoothie and couldn’t really taste the difference and I had it on my salad, but I used a nut based salad dressing on it, so I didn’t notice any sort of out of the ordinary nutty taste.  I will definitely be looking into other ways to use it, though.  Here’s my breakfast smoothie for today:

1 1/2 Cups Kale

1 1/2 Cups Coconut Water

2 Cups of a frozen mango, raspberry, blueberry, strawberry mix (no sugar – organic)

1 Banana

2 Tbsp. Hemp Seed

1 Tbsp. Flax Seed

Mix everything really well (I usually mix my smoothies until the kale is unrecognizable).Hemp Shake

Leave a Reply

