Terrific Turmeric

In my never-ending quest to find something to ease my joint pains, I started using turmeric.  I don’t have anything to report yet because I just started last night.  I tend to have a lot of upper body pain:  shoulders, elbows, hands and wrists.  It usually makes me really tired when I’m achy and it makes playing the flute and guitar difficult.  Right now I’m achy.  It usually happens this time of year.  I’m not as bad as I have been for the past few years, but it’s still annoying.  On one hand, I would give anything to stop the achiness.  On the other hand, I don’t want to be connected to a bottle of medicine.  I’ve been doing yoga and at night time, I do 30 minutes of stretching (which, by the way, has the added benefit of making me sleep like a baby).  It helps if I get a good night’s sleep, but it’s hard to get a good night’s sleep if I’m achy.  arg!  It’s sometimes frustrating.  So, hence my experiment with turmeric.Turmeric

Turmeric reportedly has many benefits.  Holistic health practitioners use turmeric to clear infections and reduce inflammation.  hmmm…reduce inflammation.  That’s like whispering sweet nothings in my ear.  Turmeric also contains antioxidants.  The National Cancer Institute reports that UCLA did a study on turmeric and they found that it has a component, curcumin, that blocks the enzyme that promotes the growth of head and neck cancers.  Not that that has a lot to do with me, but I thought it was pretty cool anyway.  Also, turmeric is a very potent anti-inflammatory.

Since I like curry/Indian type of flavors, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try using turmeric more.  This morning, I had a teaspoon of it in my breakfast smoothie (I didn’t actually taste the turmeric at all because I had cinnamon in it as well and that’s all I tasted).  For lunch, I made humus and added turmeric to it.  This was very tasty.  Here’s the recipe:Red Pepper Hummus

Sweet Pepper humus:

1 Can Chick Peas, drained and rinsed

1 Sweet Red Bell Pepper, chopped

Juice of 1/2 of a lemon

2 Tablespoons Tahini

2 Cloves Garlic

1 Teaspoon Turmeric

Small handful of parsley

Pinch Cayenne, to taste

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Directions: Throw everything in the food processor and process until desired consistency.  I wanted mine to be smooth, so I didn’t bother chopping the pepper first and just threw everything in.  If you want it a little chunky, chop the pepper first so it takes less processing to mix everything.  Serve as a veggie dip, which is what I did for lunch, or spread on a sandwich or crackers.

I could eat this a lot:  just the right bite to it and satisfying at the same time.

Oh, yeah, and last night I made a night-time milk with hemp milk, turmeric, cinnamon, and little bit of honey.  It was tasty and calming.  So I’ll give a report on how the whole turmeric thing shakes out, if I see any results.

Until tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “Terrific Turmeric”

    1. I’m not sure if my first response went through: I’ve heard that about ginger. I was reading today that turmeric is part of the ginger family, so it makes sense that it would have the same properties. I love fresh ginger, but I’m not a huge fan of the powdered.

Leave a Reply

