Sunflower Chili

Soups and chilis have been my main staple lately. The weather here in upstate New York has been varying between freezing cold, snow, rain, and warmth. Soups kind of just fit the bill for my go-to food. It’s easy for the days that I want to take advantage of the beautiful weather while it’s here (like yesterday) and perfect for comfort food on the raw, nasty days. I try to prepare them like the Dr. Fuhrman book talks about: no oil, nuts for the protein and fiber, lots of beans. Sometimes I’ll add mushrooms and onions as well to satisfy the daily requirements of G-BOMBS (greens, beans, onions, mushrooms, berries, and seeds). I haven’t worked berries into any of my soups yet. Maybe I’ll try strawberries in soup at one point because they do have a tomato-ey type of vibe to them. Maybe a miso soup with strawberries and ginger….hmmmm….maybe when I’m feeling a little more creative. Anyway, I made this super easy chili yesterday. It’s a great detox after the rich food we had on Christmas day and it’s easy so I’m not chained to the kitchen for an afternoon. The sweet potato gives it a little sweetness to the earthy chili flavor. You can add peppers and onion to it as well, even mushrooms. This was just a quick, toss-it-together type of chili. Give it a whir. I hope you like it.
Sunflower Chili 2 copy

Sunflower Chili

Ingredients:
(2) 28 oz. Cans Chopped Tomatoes
14 oz. Can Black Beans, drained
14 oz. Can Kidney Beans, drained
14 oz. Can Pinto Beans, drained
2/3 Cups Raw Sunflower Seeds
½ Cup Vegetable Stock
2 Med. Sweet Potatoes, peeled and chopped
¼ Cup Chili Powder
1 Tbsp. Cumin
2 Tsp. Granulated Garlic
Salt and Pepper, to taste

Directions:
Add everything to a stockpot and cook over medium heat for about 1 hour (or until sweet potatoes are tender). Season as desired. Serves 10, 1 cup servings.

Leave a Reply

