Quinoa Mushroom Breakfast Porridge and Seasoning Mix

Lately I’ve been mostly making smoothies for breakfast, mainly because I just don’t know what to eat besides eggs for breakfast. Seriously, when you’re eating on the paleo diet, you’ll eat a lot of eggs: eggs in EVERYTHING. We ate so many eggs that I contemplated raising our own chickens to keep us supplied in eggs. (sorry to all those vegans I just offended) I’m not a huge fan of sweet breakfasts – they just don’t seem to hold me over. I had some oatmeal loaded with nuts and fruit and that was okay, but I just don’t get up in the morning and say, ‘mmmm mmmm oatmeal.’ I was going to make some sweet potato pancakes this morning, but I got up late and, by the time I did my devotions, I was hungry and wanted something quick. This was my solution. I’m not sure if a porridge is technically supposed to be sweet, but I’m calling it a porridge anyway. It’s got that comfort feel of a porridge and the heartiness I like to have for breakfast. This porridge really filled the whole house with a wonderful aroma. This smelled so good that I’m actually drawing my family over to the dark side to eat vegan. My husband loves the fact that it’s so much cheaper to eat vegan, and healthy. My kids just love the things I make. Seasoning The smell in the house this morning had everyone coveting my porridge.
Before I get to the porridge recipe, I’ll give you the recipe for my seasoning mix. Dr. Fuhrman’s recipes use Spike seasoning a lot. First of all, it’s pretty pricey. Second of all, I know it’s supposed to be all natural, but when I read the ingredients, it just doesn’t seem all that good to me. So, being me, I made my own. Here’s the recipe:Seasoning 2
Seasoning Mix

Ingredients:
¼ Cup Salt
1Tbsp. dried onions
1 Tbsp. Dried Garlic
1 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast Flakes
3 Tsp Paprika
2 Tsp Dry Mustard
2 Tsp Basil
1 ½ Tsp Turmeric
1 ½ Tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
1 Tsp Garlic
1 Tsp Onion
1 Tsp. Dill
1 Tsp. Thyme
1 Tsp. Mexican Oregano
1 Tsp. Coriander Seed

Directions:
Blend all ingredients in a spice grinder or coffee mill until well mixed.

This tasted really good in my porridge. I’m excited to try it in more dishes now. I hope you enjoy this.

Quinoa Mushroom Breakfast Porridge
Quinoa Mushroom Breakfast Porridge

Ingredients:
7 Mushrooms, sliced
1 Small Sweet Potato, shredded
½ Cup Cooked Quinoa
1 Tbsp. Flax Meal
1 Tsp. Spike Seasoning
Vegetable Broth

Directions:
In a medium skillet, sauté mushrooms and sweet potato until soft and slightly caramelized (use vegetable broth to keep from sticking to the pan). Add seasoning and quinoa and enough vegetable broth to give it a porridge texture. Makes 1 serving.

Leave a Reply

