Lunchtime! Lentil Sloppy Joes

I don’t eat sandwiches too often. Occasionally, though, I like a good sandwich. I don’t know: I guess it brings me back to my childhood and having Wonder Bread sandwiches for lunch at school (it’s a wonder that I used to eat Wonder Bread, but that’s another story for another time). I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these sloppy joes are. It’s hearty and filling and has a good amount of protein. I had it on some gluten free, vegan bread (which is hard to find in our area) with a salad on the side. It was so filling that I was still full at dinner so I ended up having just a smoothie for dinner. These were fairly easy to make, too, and I have lots of leftovers for easy lunches. I hope you enjoy them.
Lentil Sloppy Joes
Lentil Sloppy Joes

Ingredients:
3 ⅓ Cup Vegetable Stock
1 Onion, finely chopped
1 Bell Pepper, finely chopped
10 oz. Mushrooms, finely chopped
1 ½ Cups Dry Lentils
14 oz. Can Petit Cut Diced Tomatoes
¼ Cup Organic Ketchup (don’t use plain old ketchup!)
2 Tbsp. Liquid Aminos
1 Tbsp. Chili Powder
1 Tsp. Spike Seasoning
1 Tsp. Dry Mustard
½ Tsp. Ground Allspice
4 Medjool Dates, finely chopped

Directions:
In a medium stockpot, add the chopped vegetables and 1/3 cup of the stock. Sauté vegetables until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer on medium low for about 50 minutes. Serve on a roll or gluten free toast.