Vegan Teff Bread (Gluten Free)

I used to be a bread girl. I think I may have had a love affair with bread: but not any old bread. I loved the homemade, crusty, yeasty wonderful bread that would crackle as you bit into it and then would stretch as you chewed it. Hold on. Give me a minute here.

Well, health issues forced me to go gluten free. I’m actually so sensitive to it that I have problems when I bake regular things for my glutenful family members. I’ve started washing really well when I bake ‘regular’ things and I’m thinking about wearing rubber gloves. Anyway, that was about four years ago. I’m really not a huge baker. I’m just not a fan of baked goods, but I did always like making bread. It was kind of like a science experiment to me. Since I’ve been gluten free, I’ve been in the endless search for a gluten free bread that’s not crumbly or dense. It’s not easy. The breads you buy in the freezer section are pretty good, but expensive, and I’m a known cheapskate, so I don’t buy them often. THEN, I went vegan: like gluten free wasn’t difficult enough. It’s next to impossible to find a gluten free vegan bread in the supermarket.

Today, I experimented with this bread. I wanted to have something that was kind of grainy/wheaty-like yet stretchy and wonderful.Vegan Teff Bread Sandwich Not too much to ask, is it? Seriously – hallelujah! This bread turned out a-ma-zing. It was just the right fluffy/stretchy combo and a deep, earthy flavor to boot. I kept the oil out of it to keep in line with the Fuhrman diet. I stayed low on the sugar as much as possible (you need some for the yeast to grow and I didn’t know if using whole dates would fit the bill to feed the yeast). Instead of putting eggs in it (which gluten free flours tend to live on), I used flax meal mixed with some hot water. This turned out so well, I did my happy dance. Even my daughter took a slice and said ‘whoa.’ (insert happy dance again) I had a hummus sandwich with lentil sprouts for lunch…..mmmmmmm….So, if you have a morning to kill and are looking for a really good vegan bread, give this a shot. You won’t be let down.
Vegan Teff Bread
Vegan Teff Bread

Ingredients:
1 ½ Cups Warm Water
2 ¼ Tsp. Active Dry Yeast
6 Tbsp. Water
2 Tbsp. Ground Flax Meal
¼ Cup Cashew Butter
2 Tbsp. Maple Syrup
2 Cups Teff Flour
½ Cup Garbanzo Bean Flour
½ Cup Tapioca Flour
1 ¼ Tsp. Salt

Directions:
Combine the warm water and yeast and allow to proof until bubbly, about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, combine the 6 tablespoons of water and the flax meal and heat in the microwave for about a minute. Allow to sit and cool until the mixture becomes a slimy, egg-white consistency. Add the cashew butter and maple syrup to it and mix well.
In the bowl of a mixer, combine the teff flour, garbanzo bean flour, tapioca flour, and salt. Mix well. Add in the yeast mixture and flax meal mixture and beat for about 2 minutes, until thoroughly combined. Transfer mixture to a greased, 8×4 glass loaf pan. Allow to rise 1 hour until doubled in size. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350◦.
Bake in preheated oven on the middle shelf for about 40 minutes. Allow to rest and cool before cutting. Makes 1 loaf.

6 thoughts on “Vegan Teff Bread (Gluten Free)”

Leave a Reply

