No Oil Caesar Dressing

Yes, even in this freezing cold weather, I still eat salad. It’s a protocol in the Dr. Fuhrman book. Dr. Fuhrman says that you should have one large salad a day. With some of his heart patients and diabetic patients, he even has them have salad with each meal. That’s a bit much for me. I like salad, but not that much. Without going into too much detail, let’s just say that raw salad works for me. I really like the Fuhrman dijon date dressing, but it is a very rich dressing. If you have salad every day, sometimes you just need to have something that’s not so rich. I really like this dressing. It’s lighter than most nut-based dressings, and has a very Caesar-ey taste to it. It will thicken as it sits in the fridge, so it does become quite dip-like and sticks very well to veggies. I also use it as a spread on a sandwich with a broiled portobello mushroom and sauteed onions. It’s a great overall dressing. I hope you enjoy it! Here’s the recipe:
No Oil Dairy Free Caesar Dressing
Ingredients:
½ Cup Raw Cashews
½ Cup Water
4 Tbsp. Nutritional Yeast
4 Tbsp. Lemon Juice
1 Tbsp. Dijon Mustard
1 Medjool Date
3 Cloves Garlic

Directions:
Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender until completely smooth.

2 thoughts on “No Oil Caesar Dressing”

  1. I want to read his book, I’ve read tons of articles about his philosophy and it sounds really advantageous. I have been looking for a healthy caesar recipe- I have a hard time coming to terms with the Caesar offered up in most restaurants. I’d love for you to share a post at my link up tomorrow, if you’re interested!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    1. Sure – this way of eating may not be for everyone. I think if you’re giving up meat for health reasons, it’s a little harder than giving it up for ethical reasons. But, it makes so much sense: eating nutrient dense foods. All I know is my personal experience and that I’ve been suffering with health problems for over 15 years and I’m finally gaining back what I used to have (and I’ve tried numerous ways of tackling my health issues). It just really works for me. My new mantra is: nothing tastes as good as healthy feels. 😉

Leave a Reply

