Vegan Taco Salad

Why does everything have to be so hard? I just had to say that. Actually, everything isn’t so hard. This was easy. Yes, taco salad: that’s easy. We’re still working on fixing up our house. My husband goes back to work at the end of this month, so it’s crunch time now. Today I spent the day refinishing our kitchen island. I was tired and sore and annoyed that I didn’t get as far along as I thought I would and then the kids ask the age old question: What’s for dinner. argh Okay, just breathe. Don’t dump the stain on the floor and walk out on strike. Breathe. Yes, left overs it is. Actually, it was kind of ‘clean the refrigerator out’ night. We had a dinner at church yesterday, so I had a large pot of chicken soup with gluten free noodles leftover. There was left over taco meat from last week (no mold: check – smells okay: check. Come on – admit it: you’ve done that too). But, I had no left overs for me. I liked the idea of a taco salad. I had the taco sauce and vegan crema fresca that I made last week for the flautas. I had some black beans in the pantry and some green pepper and red onion that I had already chopped up for a salad this weekend. So, taco salad it was. Easy peasy. If you want a quick, satisfying meal, this will fit the bill:
Vegan Taco Salad

Vegan Taco Salad

Ingredients:
Taco ‘Meat’:
1 Cup Black Beans
2 Tablespoons Chopped Green Bell Pepper
2 Tablespoons Chopped Red Onion
1/2 Teaspoon Chili Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Paprika
1/2 Teaspoon Dried Minced Onion
1/4 Teaspoon Ground Cumin
Vegetable Broth, as needed

Romaine Lettuce
Chopped Tomato
Chopped Fresh Onion
Crumbled Corn Tortillas
Taco Sauce
Vegan Crema Fresca

Directions:
In a small saucepan, combine the black beans, bell pepper, onion, and spices. Saute until beans are heated through and onion is translucent. Add some vegetable broth, as needed, to prevent the mixture from sticking to the pan.
Top your salad with the bean mixture and top with taco sauce and crema fresca.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Taco Salad”

Leave a Reply

