Italian Lentil Sprouts – Sprouting 102 and Chronic Epstein Barr

I have chronic Epstein barr virus.  It used to be a real inconvenience, but, it’s not so much anymore, usually.  I’ve been able to keep it under control through diet and supplements, usually.  For some reason, it tends to hit me hard in the spring:  ridiculously swollen glands, extremely tired, very sore joints, slow recovery if I do anything slightly active.  Going vegan seemed to help me, but that was before I had an active phase of the virus.  So, back to the drawing board.  I started to do some more research.  I don’t know all of the ins and outs of how the Epstein barr virus works.  Actually, doctors don’t even know a ton about it, except that sometimes anti-virals will help a bit with the symptoms, but there’s really no ‘cure’ for it.  The only thing you can hope and pray for is that you can have longer times when you’re in remission and the active times don’t last too long.  When I was diagnosed with it (about 7 years ago), my titers were 300 times higher than someone with the active virus (someone with mono), which indicated that I had a chronic version of it.  I’ve read a lot about the virus over the years and there seems to be a connection between CEBV and thyroid conditions and digestive issues and vitamin and mineral absorption.

Legal disclaimer:  I’m not a doctor.  I have no idea what I’m talking about.  Anything I say here is from my personal experience and from what I’ve read from real doctors.

Here’s where I start talking about supplements and trying to heal from a chronic condition.  I’ve been taking sublingual B-12 because of my pernicious anemia.  I believe that my gluten sensitivity and other allergies and absorption issues have occurred because the CEBV has ruined my digestive system.  So, I’ve been working on healing my gut for a couple of years now.  It has been somewhat working because my immune system has greatly improved in the last year.  I’ve been supplementing with a very good probiotic and lugol’s iodine every morning along with selenium, and magnesium at night.  I’m also supplementing with vitamin C to add a little help to my tired adrenals.  That’s just the direction I’m taking right now.

That brings me to sprouting.  When I first started sprouting, I did it because I liked the taste of sprouts and I also was making Sprouting Jarmy own sprouted brown rice flour to make halvah bars.  It turns out that there’s a better reason to sprout:  phytic acid.  Phytic acid is a glommer.  It gloms onto the minerals and vitamins that your body could use and takes them right out of your system. Now, if you have a healthy digestive system, a little phytic acid doesn’t really hurt.  If your system is compromised, like mine, it can really wreak havoc on your system. With the Fuhrman diet, I’ve been eating a ton of beans and nuts, all which are loaded with phytic acid.  This could be why I’m having a down time right now.  The good news, though, is that sprouting or fermenting will greatly reduce the phytic acid in them.  In the right conditions, it’s the phytic acid in a seed or bean or nut that makes it start to sprout.  Once it starts to sprout, the phytic acid is neutralized and is either eliminated or greatly reduced.  Cooking without soaking will diminish phytic acid a bit, but not as much as sprouting or fermenting.  Another option is to soak the offender in an acidic solution (I use filtered water with apple cider vinegar, but whey could also be used).  You’ll know when it’s ready after soaking because the water will get foamy and the water will get a slimy texture.  Right now I have kidney beans, chick peas, cashews, and brown rice sprouting.  Today I used the sprouted lentils to make this little Italian stir fry for lunch.  It was very tasty and quick to make.  I’m trying to keep a rotation of sprouted rice and legumes so I always have something easy to make.  I hope you give sprouting a try.  You’ll like it and so will your digestive system.Italian Lentil Sprouts

Italian Lentil Sprouts

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil

2 Cups Sprouted Lentils

1 14.5 oz. Can Chopped Tomatoes

1 Cup Chopped Kale

¼ Cup Chopped Dried Tomatoes

½ Red Bell Pepper, chopped

½ Sweet Onion, chopped

1 Medium Zucchini, Chopped

2 Teaspoons Dry Basil

1 Teaspoon Dry Oregano

4 Cloves Garlic, minced

Salt, to taste

Directions:

In a medium sized skillet, melt the coconut oil. Add the lentils, kale, dried tomatoes, pepper, onion, and zucchini. Sauté until kale wilts. Add the lentils and tomatoes. Cook for about 10 minutes over medium high heat, until zucchini is cooked to your liking. Makes 2-3 servings.

One thought on “Italian Lentil Sprouts – Sprouting 102 and Chronic Epstein Barr”

Leave a Reply

